Brave Enough: Review

Lindsey Stirling’s new album came out last week, something I’ve been anticipating for months! I’ve had the pleasure of seeing this girl live, I’ve bought every album and have loads of merch. I’m no where near as big of a fan as Phelba but I’d say I’m pretty close. I’ve been following her on youtube since she she made her channel–I was a little baby middle schooler then (oh how time flies!).

I’ve loved everything thing she’s done, from the video game covers to her Decemberist’s cover.  So imagine my excitement for the new album.

It’s sort of bittersweet knowing that most of this album was inspired by Gavi and how difficult things must have been for the dubstep violinist. But she took that anger, that hurt and turned it into something beautiful.

I won’t lie, I was a bit disappointed with Brave Enough. As much as I like the collaborations,  I was hoping for more instrumental songs–or songs without lyrics. Don’t get me wrong, she’s a beast at writing meaningful lyrics–we shall never forget ‘Shatter Me’–but I do miss her signature dubstep pieces. I’m not a fan of change, which I’m sure if you follow my blog you are well aware of this fact, and I can’t help but feel that she’s changing too fast. I will never stop spreading the Lindsey Love but I will say I miss her video game covers and her quirky songs. Artists need to evolve I know and her new album is fantastic–it just wasn’t what I was expecting. The album has a strong message, it’s vulnerable and powerful at the same time and pulls of a certain cohesion that tugs at the edges of your heart. Can we just take a moment to appreciate track number nine? Mirage is definitely my favorite.

While I’m discussing the new album, I wanna talk about her new music video! The Arena is an original song inspired by a quote from Teddy Roosevelt I believe. The song itself has  a powerful sound and feel. The video is definitely more…risque… than anything else she’s ever done and I absolutely adore it! Lindsey walks in to this arena with a hunky-dunky piece of arm candy dressed in post apocalyptic inspired steam punk costumes ready to dance for their lives–or so it seems. The story behind the song is sort of revealed in the quote displayed at the beginning. Towards the end everyone who competes in this arena notices that the only people they can see in the stands is themselves.

This made me smile. I’m all about self love and self empowerment. I love, love, love how Lindsey embeds these deep meanings in her music that are completely obvious to anyone who is willing to listen.

Lindsey has always been an inspiration to me and I’m so excited to see what she has in store for us next!

Leave a Reply

