New Series: Spoonie Fashion

Hello WildeKats!!

I’ve been working on something very exciting. I’ve also been playing video games…but you probably already knew that didn’t you? Still trying to finish Andromeda, but Apollo has been a bit distracting lately…I think he’s jealous of Corvinus. Every time I sit down to play Andromeda, I hear FemShep calling to me from the living room. I finally got a proper desk chair and my new cooling system to work so Apollo has been running like a charm all week. Not sure how long it will last, God’s tend to be a bit on the moody side but I shall enjoy my few days off with him.

Any who, on to my exciting news!!

I’ve been asked to start a fashion segment. I’ve been twirling this idea around in my head for quite sometime. I have a post on my daily beauty regimen and another for tips and tricks but I never considered myself to be, for lack of a better term, fashion forward.

We all like to look our best, and we all have a style. Mine rotates between hipster/boho on my good days to grunge/badass when I’m pissed or not feeling well. I also have sworn off jeans–traditional jeans–that is. I’m a jegging girl all the way.

The only reason I even considered this is because I am a spoonie. Now, for all you fashionista’s that come across this, a spoonie is someone who has a chronic illness. These illnesses include but are not limited to lyme disease, chrons disease, fibromyalgia, rheumatoid arthritis, lupus and even some mental illnesses. I personally battle CFS, fibro, and RA on a daily basis. These illnesses make even the simplest tasks difficult, so fashion isn’t something most of us are concerned about.

As a toddler I was a pagent girl, a dancer in my school years and a cheerleader. I even modeled competitively when I was in JR High. I have been trained to always look my best when I leave the house because you never know who you might run into. Fashion is a coping mechanism for me, if I’m confident in my outfit somehow–even on a flare day–I still feel accomplished and beautiful.

As spoonies, our lives are riddled with pain, constant doctor’s appointments, sleepless nights and rough mornings–but that doesn’t mean we have to look as rough as we feel.

I shall call this series Spoonie Fashion (unless I come up with a better title) and I will share all my tricks to look good despite the pain. Some days you just can’t. But if you’re like me–a spoonie who refuses to let your illnesses get the better of you, check in every once in a while for my comfortable spoonie outfits and must have pieces.

I will apologize in advance though, as my photography skills aren’t the best and I have yet to befriend a true artist. Until that day, ignore the awkward mirror selfies.

First post will be up soon.

What are you’re thoughts? Are you a spoonie with a passion for fashion? What are your tricks to looking your best on flare day? Comment below!

Until next time,

OXOXO

Kat

Leave a Reply

