Why I Like the Power Rangers

We all have that one thing that we love that we tell NO ONE about. It’s our guilt pleasure, the thing we watch in secret on Saturday Nights when we’re not out with our friends. For me, that was the power rangers. All through out high school I tried to conform–we all did. High school isn’t a place where we bloom in adversity. We’re convinced that we need to be like everyone else to fit in, be popular, or just stay out of the resident bully’s radar. 

So we hide everything about ourselves that makes us different thinking that will make things better. 

Well it doesn’t. 

In fact it’s those tiny little things you hide from everyone else that makes you beautiful. Whether it’s how smart you are, how much you love classical music, or how insanely obsessed with comic books. It’s those tiny little things that make you a who you are. 

For me, I was obsessed with the Power Rangers. I used to watch them with my cousin when I was young. We would spend every weekend together and wake up early on Saturdays to catch the two MMP episodes. Sure, super heros were amazing but my heart was with the band of hearty teenagers with attitude. 

Why you ask? It’s because every other Super hero story out there was about a person, an adult, who either was zapped by some weird science thing or some sort of alien. Maybe they were insanely rich and had a lot of baggage. 

It’s not often there’s a good super hero story out there that revolves around teenager who have to save the world AND go through puberty. I mean, puberty is hard enough. Try adding puddys, Goldar, monsters and aliens to the mix. Oh–and forget Lord Zed and Rita! 

I’ve always loved superhero everything because it made me feel like I could be anything. But the power rangers inspired to be a better person. No matter who I was, super hero or concerned citizen, it was always important to focus on being the best version of you. 

 Every season of Power Rangers there is, from MMP to Samuri–it inspires kids to be the best version of themselves. I haven’t watched the newer ones so I don’t know if there’s any out there other than LSR and Time Force that have adult protagonists. Unless you count Zeo and Turbo. But those characters were Power Rangers in high school and were so bad ass that they remained Power Rangers even after they became adults. 

There’s these kids that a friend of mine works with. He’s a counsellor for kids with Autism. Let me tell you, thu eat up anything and everything about the Power Rangers. They always talk about how when they grow up they wanna be smart like Billy or strong like Jason and Tommy. It makes me so unbelievably happy. 

And now there’s a movie!! I know it flopped but I was the first person in line at the movie theatre the day it opened and I bought the Blue Ray the day it hit the shelves. This show , this franchise, has always been an inspiration to me. If you’ve hear me talk about my little Tv show that I write for my friends, you should know it was inspired by the Power Rangers. 

The characters struggle with everyday things, fights with friends, depression, the fear of not being good enough, being bullied, even family issues. How close the teams are, how they love each other and how they forgive each other is how kids should be. Friendship is a gift we all take for granted. It’s a beautiful gem that needs to be cherished and how often to we as kids or even adults throw it away for a mean comment or the next big trend? How often to we let friendships fade because we hate confrontation or we’re so focused on how many likes on Insta we get? Or maybe it’s the new boy/girl in town. 

Let me tell you something. Those teens from Angel Grove wouldn’t have let that happen. In fact I’m pretty sure Tommy tried to kill his friends and they still forgave him. All I’m saying is that the Power Rangers are very good role models for kids. They come in every size, shape, form and fashion. They’re accepting, forgiving, compassionate and let’s not forget they all studied together. I like to think that I turned out the way I did because of what I didn’t watch as a child. I’m glad my parents wouldn’t let me watch certain cartoons or play certain video games. When I look back on my child hood, I wanted to be a Power Ranger so bad that I spent every waking minute I could out side training, fighting bad guys, or exploring. And I rubbed off on my sisters because they did the same thing. Just not as good as me. :p 

Just kidding. They’re amazing. And they’re the light of my life. I didn’t realise I wrote so much. Good golly guys…ok I’m going to go binge watch something now. 

Enjoy the rest of your week. 

OXOXOX 

Love, 

Kat

Leave a Reply

