Summer Favorites 

Hello my beautiful WildeKats. It’s been a wild month for me, with some new symptoms popping up randomly and all the storms in my area I haven’t gotten much done creatively. But you all will be happy to know, I will be making an appearance at Crypticon in Kansas City as Black Canary ❤️ 

Now–I live in Texas unfortunately. And my family loves outdoor time. Being a spoonie and all I find it hard to participate in pool and lake days. But I am traveling to San Antonio for another wedding and we will be doing some activities on the river so I thought it would be appropriate to share some of my summer beauty necessities. I’ve talked about two of them before but they’re amazing products so you’ll see me rave about them again in the future. 

Summer means sun, sun means UV rays and aside from sunscreen (I use baby sunscreen) you’re beauty essentials need to pack a punch, literally. I am cursed with dry skin, so I generally go for moisturiser with UV protection all year around. Skin cancer is no joke and my family is prone to it, on both sides. *collective sigh* 


I usually go for PONDS but I sent my sister to the store for me and she brought me back an equate version of the same things, and honestly I see little difference. PONDS dry skin cream can be a little greasy, especially if you use it before you put makeup on. With the Equate version, it certainly looks like it would be greasy but it’s not. Once your skin absorbs the cream, that’s it. No grease, no shiny nose, no residue. I put it on in the mornings after I brush my teeth so it has ample time to absorb into my skin before a makeup routine. Which, during the summer I don’t use make up much. 

If you read my ghost hunt post, then you’ve heard me talk about Evian Mineral Water Mist. I know most of you are like, “Kat, you actually buy water in a spray bottle?” Well, yes, I do. This isn’t just water it’s spring water on steroids. No joke. I don’t know what Evian puts in this stuff but it’s amazing. I’m actually from Phoenix so I’m used to battling UV rays on a completely different level. This stuff isn’t just useful in the summer when you’re by the beach and you can feel your skin tightening up around your nose because is parched. This mineral mist is great for all year round-it refreshens makeup, is great as a pre primer moisturiser and the PERFECT secret weapon for looking like a model when you’re walking off a 14 hour flight from London (or wherever). I have used this stuff for years, and I usually keep a small bottle in my purse and beach bag. You can’t get the small ones from Sephora and Ulta, but the 10oz I order from Amazon bc I’m a prime babe. You can also get it from Ulta, they keep the 10oz on the shelf. 

Next is sea salt spray. Any kind will work, I like Not Your Mothers Beach Babe Texturizing Spray, but Bumble and Bumble is good and Nuetrogena has one from a reboot line. NYM has a great smell and I’m all about smell so naturally that’s the one I go for. It’s also readily available everywhere and I’m horrible lazy. You can spritz it on damp hair after the shower, a dip in the pool or the ocean. Or you can be like me and use it on air dried locks that have been in a loose braid all night. Like I said–I’m unbelievably lazy. This spray is my secret weapon. My hair is really fine so texture is nothing more than a day dream normally. Well not any more! Seriously, sea salt spray is the best. I’m actually gonna try the Nuetrogena one when I finish this bottle of NYM. I’ll be sure to post a reaction/review piece when I do. 

If you’re cursed with dry skin like me, then all hopes of rocking those hot AF lip sticks is just that–a hope. That is, if you’re not equipped with the right chap stick. I don’t wear lipstick much because of my perpetual dry lips, but NIVEA is slowly changing that for me. They have so many great options, everything from flavoured Vaseline to minty lip plumpers. I personally stick to the original smoothing formula. I slather it on with my primer and let it sit till I’m ready for lipstick at the end of my makeup routine. 

And last but certainly not least in my summer favourites list is sunglasses!!! Guys, I cannot stress how important a pair of sunglasses are for Spoonies. I don’t care what ails you, migraines, light sensitivity and sensory issues accompany just about every chronic illness to exist. I wear glasses so I order prescription sunglasses off line–pricey but I have to have them in order to drive. Sometimes I need them just to get through a work day bc the fluorescents are too much. But in the summer time when the sun is reflecting off the water, the glare is excruciating. If you don’t have a decent pair of UV refracting sunglasses you can kiss you’re relaxing day at the beach/lake/pool/river or wherever goodbye. I ordered the ones above from charming Charlie’s. These aren’t prescription but they’re just so damn cute! I only use my prescription ones to drive, so I have a plethora of trendy sunglasses to choose from for beach/lake days. 

There you have it WildeKats! These are my spoonie summer must haves. There are plenty more items that I keep on hand but these are the most important for summer fun! Have an amazing summer my loves. Rest up and have lots of gentle fun! 

OXOXO

Kat 

3 thoughts on “Summer Favorites 

Leave a Reply

