Courage, Water Aerobics and Victory Treats 

So, it’s been a minute. But I’ve had a lot on my mind and a lot to do so blogging hasn’t been something I could focus on lately. I’ve been apartment hunting with Anita, working, and trying out some new pain management routines. 

I’ve sort of hit rock bottom when it comes to RA. I’m not on any pain meds for RA or fibro and my entire body is just so exhausted and in pain no matter what I do. I’ve been trying to walk, stretch, do yoga at home and just be active but my legs and hips are just like… nope. My back has always been a problem so I’m used to it but when everything hurts all at once it just flat out sucks. 

I had a very exciting week though. Anita and I may have found an apartment, I house sat my friends kitties, went to a conference for work and then journied to see Queenie so that we could attempt Macaroons once more. It is my goal to have tea parties with Anita on Sundays and Macaroons are a MUST for tea parties. They didn’t turn out quite like we had hoped but they’re way better than our first attempt. 

I’ll be posting a blog post about that next week. 

But today I just wanted to brag on myself a little. I finally got up and out to the Life Center and signed up for the water aerobics classes! It’s only 5 dollars a class and I don’t have to pay for the gym membership! I’m super happy about that.

 I’ve been having some anxiety because my pain levels have sky rocketed in the last few weeks and I can’t commit to a gym membership because I can’t work out every week. Even if I could, using gym machines is painful. I’ve tried. Yoga is hard enough. My doctor says water aerobics is a good alternative and it’s soothing for joints and muscles. So hopefully this will be a good step for me. I’m also looking into massage therapy for my back and shoulders. 

I also have anxiety about going into new places because I always get lost and don’t know anyone or where anything is. So this being a gym plus a new place really freaked me out. But I managed and I’m very proud of myself! I’m not ashamed of my anxiety because when I pluck up the courage to do something that makes me anxious I always feel very…powerful afterwords. Overcoming a fear or anxiety no matter how small is a big thing for anyone. 

It’s important to recognise even the smallest of triumphs especially when living with a chronic illness. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been called lazy or been given a weird look when I get excited about getting out of bed on time, wearing a bra for a full eight hour work day, or not passing out in the shower(or on a walk). But these are big things for spoonies, so I always smile and pat myself on the back when I accomplish anything. It’s all part of my self care routine. Sometimes I have to bribe myself, but I try extra hard to not push myself or be to hard on myself. This morning I told myself I could have one of my Almond Milk protein boxes as a treat if I got up and filled out the paper work at the Life Center. Last week I bough powdered donuts because I successfully cleaned my whole apartment instead of playing video games. Spoonies gotta do what a Spoonie’s gotta do. Bribery works, sometimes…. 

As Anita and I move I’ll have to find new doctors and facilities, but knowing that I’ve overcome the fear once helps me overcome it again. I actually have to break the news to my rheumatologist in two weeks–that will definitely be blog post worthy. 

Enjoy your weekend WileKats! Be spontaneous, be safe and most of all be Wild! 

OXOXO 

Kat 

3 thoughts on “Courage, Water Aerobics and Victory Treats 

Leave a Reply

